Music Crowns Features New Marz Fay EP ‘Melancholy’

Music Crowns Features New Marz Fay EP ‘Melancholy’

Introducing Melancholy, as featured in Music Crowns, the compelling new EP from multifaceted British alternative pop artist Marz Fay, in collaboration with the esteemed production company BMG, known for their work with icons like Rita Ora and John Legend. This six-track EP, meticulously crafted for film, TV, and digital media, is testament to Marz Fay’s innovative artistry, versatility, and pursuit of musical excellence. Melancholy weaves ethereal and cinematic elements into its fabric, offering a listening experience that transcends the conventional. The project has already received high praise from BMG, highlighting Marz Fay’s gift for crafting “strong tracks and awesome hooks,” an acknowledgment that underscores her exceptional talent, songwriting prowess and the EP’s anticipated impact.

Set for release on April 5, Melancholy sees Marz Fay delving into the nuanced spectrum of human emotions, exploring the duality between joy and sorrow. The EP cleverly employs a mix of instrumental moods and lyrical depth to chart the course from light-hearted tunes to introspective tracks, with the first half of the EP characterized by an upbeat vibe, despite its contemplative lyrics, and the latter half embracing darker, more profound themes. This deliberate structure enriches the listener’s journey through Marz Fay’s exploration of melancholy, making the EP a relatable and immersive exploration of sadness, longing, and introspection. The 6-track opus stands as a beacon of Marz Fay’s artistic evolution and her ability to resonate with listeners on a deeply personal level.

Behind the scenes, Melancholy was brought to life by the collaborative genius of Marz Fay and producers XSN & XST, whose track records with BMG have seen their music grace the acclaimed Netflix series Top Boy and ITV’s flagship show Love Island. Drawing inspiration from modern and classic influences that cut across UK garage, dark pop, shoegaze, and alternative music, each track from ‘Easy to Fall Out of Love’ to ‘I Need Somebody’ showcases a blend of genres and emotions, tailored to captivate a Gen-Z audience and beyond. Marz Fay’s intention with this EP is clear: to offer solace and understanding in a world often marked by chaos, making Melancholy a sanctuary where emotions and melodies navigate the complexity of the human condition.

Marz Fay’s Melancholy EP takes listeners on an evocative journey through the complexities of love, loss, and self-discovery. The EP opens with ‘Easy to Fall out of Love,’ a lo-fi garage/pop track that perfectly encapsulates the pain of heartbreak and insecurity, blending dreamy lo-fi aesthetics with the vibrant energy of UK garage. Following this, ‘Selfish’ delves into the bittersweet nature of longing and the paradox of desire, wrapped in an alternative pop soundscape with an ethereal, danceable edge. ‘Kinda Crazy’ shifts the mood with its shoegaze influences, capturing the intoxicating but toxic nuances of love, set against a backdrop of atmospheric instrumentation and mesmerizing vocals.

The latter half of the EP ventures into darker territories, starting with ‘Knees,’ an emotionally charged track that explores themes of betrayal and vulnerability through a blend of trap and rock elements. ‘Sometimes’ offers a moment of introspection, its alternative pop melody soothing the listener into a state of contemplative calm, despite underlying themes of overthinking and emotional turmoil. Finally, ‘I Need Somebody’ closes the EP with its haunting beauty, addressing the deep-seated longing for connection and the stark realization of one’s own vulnerabilities. Together, these six tracks form a coherent narrative that reflects Marz Fay’s artistic versatility and her keen insight into the human condition, making Melancholy a deeply resonant and unforgettable listening experience.


From the vibrant streets of South London, Marz Fay has emerged as a compelling new force in British pop music and beyond, marking her territory in radio, acting, and artistic ventures with unyielding dedication to excellence. Her trajectory in music has seen remarkable achievements, with her dance anthem ‘Starz’ hitting the 12th position on the iTunes Dance Charts, and ‘Straight Girl’ reaching the 3rd spot on the iTunes Hip Hop Charts, buoyed by a viral surge on TikTok. These successes are just the tip of the iceberg; Marz Fay’s debut EP INK clinched a sync deal with BMG, weaving her tracks into the fabric of popular culture on platforms like ITV’s Love Island and various Netflix productions, highlighting her knack for melding artistic depth with commercial appeal.

The accolades for Marz Fay continue to amass, including being crowned ‘Female Artist Of The Year’ and ‘Breakthrough Artist Of The Year’ at the Tracks On Tap 2022 Awards, testament to her breakout presence in the industry. Her magnetic energy and presence have not only electrified stages at the Great Escape Festival and the renowned National Theatre, but has also resonated through the airwaves with support from BBC 1Xtra and Reprezent Radio. Offstage, Marz Fay’s artistic vision extends to filmmaking and acting, sharing the screen with renowned actors such as Cillian Murphy and Tim Roth, and captivating audiences with her versatility and raw emotion. As Marz Fay gears up to release her anticipated project Melancholy, she continues to leave an indelible mark on the industry.

1. Easy To Fall Out Of Love
2. Selfish
3. Kinda Crazy
4. Knees
5. Sometimes
6. I Need Somebody


MEDIA & PRESS: Please direct all inquiries to Ayo Adepoju: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.